Paul Manuell showed his class in a soaking wet qualifying session on Saturday morning at Hampton Downs to secure pole position for the first race of the 2018-2019 championship finale.

With standing water dotted around the track, it was all about building up speed and Manuell proved the most skilled in the conditions in his Superfreight Partmaster Holden. Many drivers went off at Turn 1 in their efforts to go hard to the line and secure a quick lap with the safe braking point before the start line in the treacherous conditions. A conservative Matthew Spratt, the championship leader, will start from eighth on the grid with both of his championship rivals ahead of him.

One year after his horrific crash at the track, Brett 'The Scud' Rudd came good in the Pallet Supplies LOSCAM Holden, ending up second on the grid just a couple of tenths behind his team mate Manuell. Peter Ward took an impressive, and very sideways, third place on the grid in the familiar Ward Demolition Holden while Alexandra Whitley showed her class in the challenging conditions to take fourth in her LDV Vans Holden.

Behind them there was an epic battle with Andrew Porter claiming fifth in his PorterHire ute, Geoff Spencer making the most of his considerable experience in the category to line up sixth for Coresteel Buildings, with title rivals Glen Collinson in the DNA Paints Ford Falcon and Spratt in the Primogrow example locking out the fourth row.

Dave Kernohan was top Ford Falcon BF runner in ninth in his KCH car with Simon Ussher impressively rounding out the top ten of the 18 car grid in tenth place in the United Freight Falcon.

Spratt leads the title chase by 40 points ahead of Collinson with Porter just a point behind Collinson heading into the races this weekend - the final round of the four round 2018-2019 championship.


NZ V8 Utes - Round 4 Hampton Downs - Qualifying


1. Paul Manuell - Superfreight Partmaster Holden

2. Brett Rudd - Pallet Supplies LOSCAM Holden

3. Peter Ward - Ward Demolition Holden

4. Alexandra Whitley - LDV Vans Holden              

5. Andrew Porter - PorterHire Holden     

6. Geoff Spencer - Coresteel Buildings Holden

7. Glen Collinson - DNA Paints Ford

8. Matthew Spratt - Primogrow Ford

9. David Kernohan - KCH Ford

10. Simon Ussher - United Freight Ford

11. Jeff Kernohan - KCH Ford

12. David Lowe - Ryco 82C Ford

13. Liam Porter - PorterHire Ford 

14. Mark Weal - Ford Falcon BF    

15. Brent Main - Ryco 82C Ford  

16. Derek Tremewan - Ford Falcon BF  

17. Joe Farre - Ward Demolition Holden                  

18. Stu Monteith - Trade Freight Holden